JAG members initiated, officers installed

Written by Aaron Williams on . Posted in Local



The Jobs for America’s Graduates (JAG) participants in West Baton Rouge were at the parish courthouse last Friday for their 3rd annual Installation and Initiation ceremony.  

During the ceremony, officers and members were inducted into the Career Association, a national network of teens and young adults interested in career success.   Seventy-six participants from Brusly and Port Allen High Schools accepted the vow of membership from Judge Robin Free, who also swore in fifteen officers for leadership of chapters at both high schools.



Students led the special event inside Courtroom A, and guest speakers included State Representative Regina Ashford Barrow; Chris Stelly, the Executive Director of Entertainment for Louisiana Economic Development; and Reynard Douglas, paraprofessional at Cohn Elementary School and Port Allen High School graduate, Class of 2009.  

All funds for the event were provided by the Wal-Mart Foundation.  

JAG programs can be found in middle and high schools, adult learning centers, and community colleges across 33 states.  A state-based, non-profit organization, JAG has been dedicated to helping qualifying students find success through graduation and employment since 1979.  

In Louisiana, JAG is organized by administrators in the College and Career Readiness division of the Louisiana Department of Education and operated by participating school districts or educational facilities. For participants JAG begins with a class facilitated by a JAG Specialist who provides an array of services including academic remediation, counseling, employability skills development, and personal skills development.   

Mentoring and support services continue for one year following graduation or the receipt of a General Education Development certificate.  All JAG participants are part of the National Career Association, and Port Allen and Brusly have had active chapters since 2010; officers will attend the annual State Student Leadership Conference on October 24, 2012, and for the first time, some officers will attend the annual National Student Leadership Conference in Washington, D.C., November 15-18, 2012. 

The annual State Career Development Conference will be available for all WBR JAG participants to attend this spring. 

Listed below are all JAG participants and Career Association members in West Baton Rouge Parish. 

Jobs for America’s Graduates Participants/Career Association Members 

Brusly High School:  Diane Brue, JAG Specialist

  • John Amburgy
  • Megan Ballad
  • Seth Barr
  • Christian Benoit, President
  • Edith Brown
  • Wallanecia Brown
  • Mitchell Callais
  • Shyneisha Collins
  • Gabrielle Dicapo
  • Thomas Dix
  • Luther Driggers
  • Tireka Duncan
  • Destiny Dupuy, Vice President for Leadership
  • Brianna Echols
  • Tyrone Fredrick
  • Clint Goldman, Vice President for Community Service
  • Cadesya Hammond
  • Percy Hayes
  • Rhoneise Jarvis
  • Damoneecia Jordan
  • Hailey Landry
  • Trevion Landry
  • Katie Lees
  • Taylor LeJeune
  • Lyneisha Lemar
  • Mark Lemar, Vice President for Career Development
  • Tyra Lemar
  • Arianna Lights
  • Christopher Medero
  • Dwana McKnight
  • Melissa Nunnery
  • Demi Patrick, Vice President for Civic Activities
  • Rashad Patterson
  • Taija Pearly, Vice President for Social Activities
  • Donovan Pelas
  • Marquis Porter
  • Kade Puglisi
  • Brandy Rushing
  • Drake Sharp
  • Jacob Snearl
  • Monica Spears
  • Otis Spriggs
  • Jared Stapleton
  • Natalie St.Cyr
  • Gage Andrew Tanner
  • Avril Tate
  • Adrian Taylor
  • Brandon Thomas
  • Marli Thornton
  • Trey Tibbs
  • Demetric Turner
  • Brianna Wesley
  • Jovonte Wheeler
  • DaShawn Williams
  • Dorothea Williams
  • Kirkland Williams
  • Magen Williams, Secretary
  • Deonte Woods

Port Allen High School:  Tara West, JAG Specialist

  • Jeff Allen
  • Nelson Allen
  • Telson Allen
  • Paul Bailey
  • Anthony Bell
  • Darrelle Blake
  • Christian Boston
  • Lawrance Boyd
  • Marquitta Breaux
  • BréAne Brown
  • Chelsea Brown
  • Joy Brown, Co-Vice President of Leadership
  • Candria Burnstein, Co-Vice President of Leadership
  • Chris Bynum
  • Dakota Chenier
  • Darian Claiborne
  • Darielle Claiborne, Secretary
  • Robert Claiborne
  • Morgan Collier
  • Jonah Collins
  • Rashad Collins
  • Victoria Courville, Vice President of Career Development
  • Adriana Davis
  • Travis Deshotel, President
  • LéAndre Dixon
  • Dalyn Duke
  • Arthur Franklin
  • Ethan Hendricks
  • Jeremiah Hollins
  • Summer Hull
  • Anna Johnson
  • Jordan Johnson, Vice President of Social Activities
  • Linda Kelley
  • Jestin Kelly
  • Marcus Keyes
  • Troy Latiolais
  • Quentin Lockett
  • Misty Nolan
  • Cheyenne O´Banion, Vice President of Community Service
  • Satin O´Banion
  • Jesus Ochoa
  • Angel Paul
  • Lawrence Paul
  • Jequincy Reed
  • Tyquincya Reed
  • Wilson Robertson
  • Brandon Ruffin
  • Tamera Solomon
  • Danielle St. Romain, Vice President of Civic Activities
  • Justice Taylor
  • Mykael Thomas
  • Brandon Verret
  • Greg West
  • Delacia Wiley
  • Deldridge Wiley
  • Dominique Williams
  • Hershel Williams


For more information about JAG, visit, or contact Tara West at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. if you would like to know more about WBR JAG or to provide sponsorship for the trip to Washington, D.C.

Leave your comments

terms and condition.
  • No comments found

Google traffic maps