Best come from West

Written by John Dupont on .

Christophe, Claiborne earn District 7-3A MVP honors

PAHSDSC 0516-edited

Jay Christophe and Darian Claiborne entered the 2012 football season highly touted by other teams in District 7-3A – and their impact showed on the 2012 All-District roster. 

Christophe, a three-year quarterback for the Panthers, finished his senior season the Most Valuable Player for offense. 

Claiborne, who doubled as a quarterback and linebacker, garnered the honor as Most Valuable Player on defense for his final season at Port Allen.


EuniceDSC 8099-2-edited

The two players led their respective teams to regional-round action in the Class 3A playoffs.

Both head coaches lauded the MVP honors as huge accomplishments for the high school football programs in West Baton Rouge Parish.

“There’s no doubt that both of them are deserving of it,” Port Allen coach Guy Blanchard said. “Both kids are truly good college-caliber football players. No doubt it’s very good for West Baton Rouge.

“Right now, these are some of the best of times for West Baton Rouge football,” he said. “You have some good kids and some good coaches doing great jobs. They’re representing the area well.”

Brusly coach Erik Willis said the honors give an added dose of pride to the local program.

“I’m very proud of both of them,” he said. “You have two great players from less than a few miles apart, and they’re the two best players in this district. Everybody should be proud of this.”

Christophe exceeded 1,000 yards on both passing and rushing his senior year.

He finished with 1,397 yards passing. He went 97-for-186 with five interceptions and 20 touchdowns.

On the ground attack, he ran 1,322 yards for 16 touchdowns.

Claiborne chalked 41 solo tackles, 59 total tackles and three interceptions.

Frank Monica, who led St. Charles to its second consecutive 7-3A title, was named Coach of the Year.

Other first-team offense honors for Brusly included lineman Ben Crockett and receiver Terrance West.

Port Allen senior Jestin Kelly picked up the honor as first-team running back for the Pelicans, while fellow upper-classman Blake Carr got the nod as first-team offensive lineman.

First-team defensive spots for Brusly went to tackle Montel Williams, defensive end Darien Cobbs, linebacker Brendon Alexander and defensive backs Dimario Jackson and Terrance West.

Second-team offensive honorees for Brusly included kicker Blake Manola, halfback Carlsel Alexander, running back Dimario Jackson, linemen Otis Spriggs and Adam Morales, and tight end Donald Williams. 

Other Port Allen first-team defensive honorees tackle Earl Bridgewater, defensive back Terion Thomas and utility player Caleb Johnson.

Second-team defensive entries for PAHS included Marcus Keyes, Morris Miller, Charles Mullins and Kyle Moore. Honorable mentions went to B.J. Franklin, Kyle Kitts and James Jones.

Honorable mentions for Brusly included Joseph Fisburne, McKay Chauvin, Chris Battiste, Patrick Crawford, Jaylon Green, Caleb Henderson, Henry Woods, Landon Andre, Travin Thibodeaux and Ken Hill. 

Honorable mentions for Port Allen were B.J. Franklin, Kyle Kitts and James Jones.


Leave your comments

terms and condition.
  • No comments found

Related Articles