1969 — C.W. Hebert, executive director of the Greater Baton Rouge Port Commission (right) receives the first copy of the Port of Greater Baton Rouge Brochure highlighting the Port from V.M. Shaw (left), manager of Gulf States Utilities Co.


From left to right John Tilton, WBR Farm Bureau President, 1994 Farm Bureau Queen Denise Brackin and first runner-up Makelle Morris. 

1994 — Denise Bracken was crowned the 1994 West Baton Rouge Parish Farm Bureau Queen. (June 2, 1994)

2009 — The Port Allen Police Department reclassifies employees at the request of Police Chief Fred Smith.

2014 — The WBR Convention and Visitors Bureau announces that “Reflections of the Season” has been selected as one of the Southeast Tourism Society’s Top 20 events for the month of December.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.